Backup

On the Configuration > System > Backup page, you can set the appliance to automatically upload system configuration data and log data to an FTP site at regular intervals as backup. Alternatively, you can manually download the appliance's configuration data at any time.

  • To configure automated backups via FTP, see "Automating Backups."
  • To manually download configuration data, click Download Now, and save the archived backup file using your web browser's save file features.
    Note
    When you manually download configuration data, an archive file is created with all of the configuration data so that it can be downloaded via your browser to a selected location on your local system. Be patient when using this feature because there is a slight delay while the configuration data is copied and archived into the file for download.
  • [Management Appliance Only] To manually perform an immediate reports data backup, click Start backup.

    Reports data is backed up to the FTP server and directory location specified in the Automated upload section. The progress of the manual reports data backup is displayed in the Reports backup status panel. After completion, this panel on the Management Appliance shows the date and time of the last reports data backup.

Please observe the following backup and restore considerations:
  • Appliance backups do not include network settings.
  • Report data for the Management Appliance should be backed up regularly to protect against the possibility of an appliance failure. Report data is restored through optional steps in the setup wizard for configuring a new Management Appliance. When selected, you can retrieve the data from an FTP location, and download it to the new appliance.
  • When setting up a replacement Management Appliance, all Web Appliances that were previously joined to it must first be reverted to standalone mode, then joined to the new Management Appliance.
  • The configuration backups do not include FTP, Active Directory, or eDirectory passwords. To ensure that these connections are properly configured, they are disabled after a restore operation, so you must re-enter your usernames and passwords for these connections and re-enable FTP and directory services synchronization on the System: Backup, System: Active Directory, and System: eDirectory pages.
  • You cannot restore system configuration data made from a Management Appliance to a Web Appliance and vice versa.
  • You can only restore from a backup that was made under the same major.minor release. For instance, you could restore a version 3.2.2.1 appliance from a backup made under version 3.2.1. But you could not restore that same appliance from a backup made under version 3.1.3.