Configuring Site Categories

On the Site Categories page of the Additional Policy wizard, you can modify any of the default policy settings or leave them unchanged to accept the default.
Note
The current option, whether it is Allow, Warn, or Block, is shown as Use default, indicating the state as set in the default or special hours policy at the time that the additional policy is first created.
  • Modify the settings or accept the default settings for any of the Site Categories that you want to change by selecting:
    • Allow (green): If selected, lets users view sites of this category; if cleared, denies users the ability to view them.
    • Warn (yellow): If selected, presents a warning to users that they are at risk of violating their organization's web use policy, but allows them to proceed to their requested page. Once a user has chosen to proceed, no warning page for that site will be displayed to that user for 30 minutes. A log entry is created when a user does proceed in possible contravention of the organization's web use policy. If cleared, no warning is given.
    • Block (red): If selected, prevents users from viewing sites of this category, and displays a warning page explaining the reason why access is blocked.
    • Quota (blue): If selected, presents a page to users that allows them to select how much quota time they wish to consume. Once a user has chosen to proceed, no warning page for that site will be displayed to that user until they have used their current selection of quota time. After they have consumed all of their available quota time, they will be presented with a block page that informs them they have no quota time remaining.
    • Use default (gray): This is the current setting, to which you can restore any changed category.
    Note
    Rules that have been overridden are displayed with the background color associated with that setting: Allow is green, Warn is yellow, and Block is red. This does not necessarily mean that the override setting is different from the default or special hours policy setting. It only indicates that this option is no longer drawn from the default or special hours policies settings.
    Important
    Blocking Advertisements and Pop-ups also blocks content that appears behind interstitial pages (pages of advertising that appear prior to the loading of a requested content URL). In blocking these pages, you are also blocking access to the content that is behind them.
  • Modify the settings or accept the default settings for the Allow user feedback option.
    Note
    If the Allow user feedback option is set to Yes, users' requests for site reclassifications can be viewed on the Search > User Submissions pages.
  • Once the category handling for this additional policy is set, move to the next page of the wizard by clicking either the Download Types icon or the Next button.